Why Hello Again

I’m so sorry for the lack of posting lately. I don’t even have a good excuse. It’s not like I’ve been super busy (any more than usual), or anything super crazy has happened. Lately I just haven’t felt like writing. The only time I do feel like writing is after I’ve had a couple drinks (which is more often than I care to admit) and then I don’t trust myself to write something public because then I share too much, or I’m afraid I will blow my cover of my anonymity (which really I shouldn’t be too worried about, nobody I know reads blogs, they’re all too busy having lives).

But anyway, here I am.

So what’s new? Well Pte Goof will graduate in just over a week from boot camp!! He’ll then be home for 3 weeks! For all of Christmas! I can’t wait. It will be so lovely to have him here for more than just a weekend. To wake up with him beside me and not have to think ugh, I have to drive him back to base today.

Also Squirt turns one this coming week. Like really soon! I can’t even believe it. Writing that it just hit me how scary close his birthday is! All along I’ve been busy planning his birthday party for after Pte Goof gets home, I kinda forgot how close his actual birthday is! Holy Shit! ONE YEAR! We’re hoping that on the day of his birthday Pte Goof will at least get base leave so I can take Squirt down there and we’ll eat dinner at PizzaPizza or something on base. So at least we can all be together for his first birthday. I really hope that we can, because I’m sure over the course of his life at some points Pte Goof will have no choice but to miss Squirt’s birthday, since he’s so close to home hopefully this year, his first birthday he won’t have to.

I’m also excited about Christmas itself. And having Pte Goof home.

But then afterward, well Pte Good has found out he will be doing his occupational training 5 hours away. For 6 months. And the military won’t be moving Squirt and I. We were thinking that we would just pay to move ourselves, but it’s just too much money. And since he’ll be that far away it’s not like I’ll be able to go get him every weekend anymore. I know it’s nothing like a deployment, but still it sucks. That will be the 6 months where Squirt goes from 1 year to 18 months. It will be his first word, his first step, and so many other things that Pte Goof will miss. It makes me so sad. I mean, we’ll see him. We’ll go visit. Pte Goof even has an uncle (that I’ve never met) down there, so Squirt and I would have a place to stay when we go visit. But it still sucks.

In the meantime I’m trying to focus on the holidays and when he’ll be home instead of when he’ll be gone.

One response to “Why Hello Again

  1. i’m so glad that you will be able to have him home for the holidays 🙂
    it sucks that he will be gone for 6 months, but distance (or time, i’m not sure) makes the heart grow stronger… and you can tape every moment of your son’s life and share it with pte goof on facebook privately (i don’t think they have computers on the bases, but may be in a city nearby he can have internet access)

    i’m glad you are back to writting 🙂

Leave a Reply

