Oh The Pressure Today

First of all, before I get into this post I want to say that I am by no means diminishing the trials moms of past generations have had. They’ve all had to work very hard for their families, and they deserve to be recognized for that. Every generation has had its own unique struggles to deal with.

That being said there is so much pressure out there on today’s moms. You see, the internet is wonderful! You have access to so much information. Anytime you’re not sure about something, anything, you can take a peek at Google and get so many results back. Even if you just want another opinion or point of view on something (the internet certainly has many opinions)! And it truly is wonderful what you can find. The other day I wanted a new hair style. Google it bang! Thousands of different styles at my fingertips. Not sure what to make for dinner? Type “quick and cheap dinner ideas” into Google and presto! There they are. Don’t know what to dress up as for Halloween bingo! You get the idea, and I’m sure you’ll all familiar with the concept.

But the down side to this is that with all this information today every mother is expected to be an expert. I’m sure I’m not the only mother out there who feels the pressure to do everything right. I mean in theory I’m always like, well I parent how I parent, and I do what I think is best for Squirt, and that’s all there is to it. But that’s not really all. I feel like I need to be an expert on every subject that comes up. I can’t make even the smallest decisions for Squirt without first reading what the experts say. And what other moms have to say.

And to make matters worse everything changes every year. There’s always a new study that swears the last one was all wrong. And everything conflicts with everything else.

I know it’s dumb because no parent is perfect. And Google doesn’t have all the answers. And doing what you honestly think is best for your child IS usually what is best for your child. But I can’t help it. I feel like because all the information is right there if I screw up then it’s pretty dumb because one quick Google would have prevented that. If I do something ‘wrong’ I should have known better.

So once again, I don’t want to say mothers past had it easier, but today the pressures are incredible.

Leave a Reply

